Tags

I may have been a bit too pessimistic about the Magnus badge.   I previously posted about the bad things it’s brought me.   But the best thing about it is probably the tale I’ve concocted earning it.

It started down by LAX, in an area called the Flight Path.

The best kind of Ingress farm – a bunch of plaques close together.  I walked the streets around LAX for quite a few more.    I missed out on the Proud Bird – closed for construction.

Opening in June 2017

Of course, Downtown Burbank figured prominently in my walk for the badge –

And I also went to an area I had been to once before.    Near Valley College is an area called the Great Wall of Los Angeles, because of it’s huge mural along a concrete wash.   Someone made a small similar one along the wall of Las Palmas Park in Sylmar.

Canyon Country also figured prominently in badge points.

This is usually friendly territory, but we got most of it knocked down so I recapped a bunch of stuff.

This is usually enemy territory – except for Canyon Country Park (center), which is a ton of grey portals nearly all the time.

Then we visited something really cool – Holly Hock house, a Frank Lloyd Wright designed home in the middle of Barnsdall Park.

And the associated walk along Hillhurst avenue as we noshed on cakes from the Alcove Bakery.   After enjoying a huge late lunch at my favorite LA Mexican restaurant, the Mexico City cafe.

No search for portals would be complete without hitting Downtown Newhall as well.

And the local park at Placerita Canyon has a huge number as well.

Burbank also yielded the Olive Park portals.

It’s been renamed George Izay park, but I’m old school.

My return trip to LAX was interesting.   I first walked among high end hotels for travelers at LAX.

And I finished up my time there on Inglewood Avenue, in a poor neighborhood but proud, vibrant, and friendly.

I would have never known these old school markets were here.

The final stop, and earning the badge, brought me to 3rd Street Promenade in Santa Monica :

And while wandering around with my wife buying nonsense in the stores on 3rd street, I have my Magnus Architect medal.   Happy Mother’s Day !

