Tags

10/14

I realized that I was darned close to Level 16.   A couple million AP doesn’t seem like a lot when you’ve already banked 38 million.    And I checked, and found the Bad Man pretty far behind.

38.4 million to go

38.4 million to go

I felt good about it, and decided to get to Level 16 as soon as possible.   Definitely, before the Bad Man.    Then, I didn’t think about it for several days.

10/18

I forgot to take screenshots, but discovered to my horror that The Bad Man was ahead !   Now was the time to do some serious grinding, because Being Competitive.

I am fortunate to work in Downtown Burbank California.   This place is an absolute AP factory, with the amount of traffic from both ENL and RES very high.    With turnover I used to cry smurf tears; right now, I shouted with joy – time to do some earning.

This meant the questionable decision to focus as much as possible on Ingress, and ignoring my job.    Dangerous, no ?    And yet, I have the seniority and I’m dealing with a very limited timeframe.   The critical stuff, I was waiting until it was my turn, I couldn’t start yet.   So I judged I could get away with it.

I walked the streets of Burbank and wrecked, fielded, and glyphed like a madman.    ENL players came through and destroyed my hard work.   But I just rebuilt !    And I was stoked.

By the day’s end, I was ahead.   He did not play during the daylight hours.   So, I reasoned, I could probably win this race with this strategy.   I have four days of the week to complete the process, that should be enough.

10/19

Looking good.

Looking good.

Ah, he's ahead again.

Ah, he’s ahead again.

Wednesday was a good day again, with plenty of back and forth and building of fields.    I attended a meeting, then dashed out to field some more.    Then approved documents and discussed business.    Then blew up the local guy’s fields.   By the end of the day, I was again ahead, and went to bed feeling good.

10/20

I am pleased.

I am pleased.

Especially since I was ahead of him.

Especially since I was even with him.

Today I knew would be tougher – there were too many things to do at work that I couldn’t put off.   But I persevered.    I seemed to have discouraged the ENL temporarily, because there was little enemy activity.    Downtown Burbank was completely fielded.

I basked in glow of my accomplishments at the end of the "work" day.

I basked in glow of my accomplishments at the end of the “work” day.

And was thoroughly annoyed at Hack The Destroyer killing it all in 15 minutes or so.

And was thoroughly annoyed at Hack The Destroyer killing it all in 15 minutes or so.

I did manage to refield some of this and conduct other activity, finding myself in a comfortable lead by the end of the day.   This was all going to come down to Friday, a traditionally light day.    I could rebuild, watch it get knocked down, and refield again for the win.

A good lead.   But The Bad Man plays while I sleep.

A good lead. But The Bad Man plays while I sleep.

10/21

The morning did not look good.

Holy Crap !

Holy Crap !

No doubt about it, it would come down to Daytime on Friday.    He would turn this into 40 million over the weekend for sure.    And I was not “working” on Saturday, plus family obligations on Friday.    (Family > Game.   Just saying.)

But thankfully, I drove into Downtown Burbank and found a green city which I promptly wrecked.   I got in early, prowled the streets and played furiously fast.   By 10 am I had the entire area fielded once again.   I even fielded from a key portal, then jarvised it, then refielded for an extra 25k AP.

But there were disquieting signs during the day.   My local ENL agent wasn’t there – took the day off ?    I took his portals and fielded from them, then could field no more.   Now, it was time to wait for the greenies to wreck downtown.

They didn’t oblige.   I had one guy race through and blow a half dozen portals, which I refielded, then the day was over.   Burbank was staying blue, and I was besides myself.    I was COUNTING on refielding one last time.   But maybe the race to 16 wasn’t over.

Downtown Newhall was freshly fielded and, amazingly, not shielded in places.    I took some extra time (Instead of getting my son early to his destination, I played a game.   Bad Dad.) and wrecked fields in Newhall.    It was gloriously large amounts of AP.

That many fields and I really don't care about your AXA my green friend.

That many fields and I really don’t care about your AXA my green friend. 

But……… it wasn’t to be.    I ended the night with 39,750,000 AP.    Instead of conceding defeat, I went to bed and hoped that The Other Guy wasn’t playing tonight.

10/22

Yeah, right.    Unfortunately it ended the way I figured it would.

Yeah, right. Unfortunately it ended the way I figured it would.

I knew he would, after the ribbing I got the day before.   After virtual congratulations – he deserved them – I reflected on my wounded pride.    We got home after a great morning with my boy.   I wrote a blog post.   My daughter is going to Homecoming tonight.   I guess I’m lucky to have a great family, even if I can’t make Level 16 as fast as I wanted to.

It’ll happen, I’m sure this week.    I think I’m done racing.   And Monday, I’ve got some work to do.     But today……. I have some errands to run….

