Tags

I’m beginning to suss out the mechanics of Pokemon Go, now that I can actually log in to the game.

  • They DID introduce a point to the gym battles.   The team that holds a gym, will receive various rewards such as pokemon coins and stardust.    I have yet to participate in the gym battles, at least in the Live version, and this was not present in the Beta.
I have found a wild Machop.   Time to catch him.

I have found a wild Machop. Time to catch him.

Here is the "Non-AR" version of catching the Pokemon.   I like this one best.

Here is the “Non-AR” version of catching the Pokemon. I like this one best.

Once you work to capture the little guy, this screen pops up which does not use the phone’s camera.   He is at a distance from you – if you’re standing on top of him you barely have to throw the pokeball.    If he’s far away, you really have to chuck it.   This mechanic is well implemented, and irritating if you miss that one that is just too far away to hit.

You can also do the AR version.

You can also do the AR version.

It’s kind of interesting.   They have somehow figured out how to put the Pokemon characters onto an appropriate place in the camera stream.   It looks like they are standing on the ground, etc, in whatever your camera is recording.   My Machop sorta looks like he’s standing on my desk.

After throwing a couple of balls –

Captured !

Captured !

Then there is the Evolve/Power Up mechanic.

My toughest Pokemon, so far.

My toughest Pokemon, so far.

I have a number of Candy points (Ie, game currency).   I get some each time I capture a pokemon, or release them to the Professor.    (Who is this guy ?   I am probably supposed to know enough Pokemon to know, but I don’t).   The candy are specific to the Pokemon.   Squeal like a pig son !   If you want to evolve your pokemon, you need a LOT of candy for that specific type.    And there are three levels of evolution for each little beastie.

I also have some Stardust.   Unlike the Candy, Stardust accumulates when you capture only, and is a shared resource across your account.    Evolving is the thing you’d really like to do.  It makes your Pokemon a lot tougher.    Power Up makes them incrementally more powerful.

I wonder how long it will take me to accumulate 50 Candy for any one Pokemon type.    I’m laying bets right now, that the first one will be Rattata.

The levelling, clearly, is extremely easy.   I think I've caught 20 pokemon.

The leveling, clearly, is extremely easy. I think I’ve caught 20 pokemon.

