Tags

,

I find myself still playing the Vikings game.    At the moment I’m in a bit of a slow period with Ingress for the annoying real-world reasons :

  • Too much work.
  • It’s over 100 degrees outside.
  • Too much to do at home
  • I have other games to play, too, you know

But the nice thing about Vikings is it’s often available.    I do a couple of things in the game : Build and collect resources.

The clan likes having me because I spread around extra items to a large degree.   I’m useless in a fight – fighting in the game seems to hinge on how much real money you want to spend, so I don’t want any part of that.   Raiding inactives, now, that’s a different story.

My current location

My current location

Most of these guys are no longer playing the game – but they still produce “rss”, meaning Wood, Stone, Iron, Food, and Silver.   You need copious amounts of this stuff to upgrade your town, so I send my troops to take as much of it as we can manage.

The other players in the area are doing the same thing, too, but I’m happy with how it’s going for me too.   I have successfully gotten my Palace (IE, my main level indicator) up to Level 18, giving me three more to go until 21 and the maximum.

Once I’m at maximum I’m not sure how interesting it will all be, but the timings are exponential as you go higher up in building level.   The last palace took around a week to upgrade.   Level 19 will be more, I’m sure.    And not only do you build but you also unlock Knowledge upgrades to make everything work better, too.   I think I have more than enough to keep me going until January.

I did not expect to be in this situation.   I had over 14,000 gold from various purchases and it disappeared one night.    They say that I spent it on in-game items.   I don’t think I did, but it doesn’t matter what I say.    I asked for a refund, or at a minimum the 30-day VIP tokens that I really wanted to buy.   They said no.    Guaranteed, with the confusing RMT in this game plus a badly designed interface (that probably had me click when I should have dragged, truthfully), plus a no-understanding customer service attitude means no money from me.    I figured I’d be done playing the game, except it hasn’t happened.

But the game is OK without money for me, so why not.    Waiting three more hours until I can build another set of troops to carry my loot for me.

