Tags

Immediately after the Connect Burbank operation, I began thinking about what I wanted my next field to be.   I thought about what could have gone better with the operation and came up with two important rules.

  1. The field should cut through enemy territory, making any Jarvised portals the exception rather than the rule.
  2. This way, if the operation fails, it can still succeed – by smashing enemy fields.

Many fields are/were under consideration, but despite the small size, the one I wanted to make next were fields over the entirety of Burbank.   You know – Burbank is my little bit of extra craziness, so nothing holds the emotional appeal of turning it all blue.

I watched the operation as the weeks, and then months, passed by.    The configuration of blue fields in the way changed, and changed again.    Anchors were set; layers were planned; agents were recruited.    Then something happens that blows half of the planning away.

Friday the 13th – 11/13/15.

6 AM

First thing a good Ingress agent does is check the scanner after waking up.    And California is covered in a megafield.

So many layers, the scanner lagged.

So many layers, the scanner lagged.

Clearly, the Enlightened are going to win the bonus points for Abbadon.   But the thought started tickling in my brain…… nobody can block under a megafield.

8 AM

It’s a light day at the office.  Another agent is also having a light day.   We decide, $^@( it, let’s not work today and let’s try for this mega-long-running planned field.    I marked the blockers – a mere 3 friendlies, and 33 enemy blockers.    Friendlies were checked, and nobody cared about them getting killed.

The configuration of friendly portals around one anchor was all off.   This, plus the fact that I hadn’t yet gotten keys in hand for them, meant we abandoned the layering.    This would be a field for the sake of a field, and possibly scoring.

So I got into the car and headed for DreamWorks Animation.

The guards didn't care about me being on the public street in front, so I liked them.

The guards didn’t care about me being on the public street in front, so I liked them.

9 AM

The first megafield layers go down, but not the entire field.   Scanner is done lagging.   We’ve killed maybe 4-5 blockers so far.     I’m getting familiar with parts of the Griffith Park I’d forgotten about, or didn’t know existed, and the blocks are continuing to evaporate.

These two portals (Smokey, and Griffith Park) look inaccessible by foot but it turns out nearby parking is easy.

These two portals (Smokey, and Griffith Park) look inaccessible by foot but it turns out nearby parking is easy.

10 AM or thereabouts

I continue to clear blockers, confident that nobody can mess with my plans since the megafield is still up….. except…… didn’t that guy just throw some kind of link over at Disney Studios ?    It turns out the scanner was still showing the megafield even though it was down.     After a force close and restart, now I could see.   California was clear again.    And we had 20 blockers or so still to kill.   I got worried.

12 PM

The Hanna Barbera studios were one important block that I cleared in the morning.   An ENL agent recaptured them, and rethrew all the fields.   I guess that’s his area.    I headed off to retake it while the last links along Hollywood Way are killed.

I was going to get very familiar with this closed guard shack.

I was going to get very familiar with this closed guard shack.

1 PM

The Enlightened have struck back and thrown a lot of blocking links – I’m not sure they knew what we were doing, but they didn’t want to take chances.     Doesn’t matter, we’re still going to go for the field.    I head back to Glendale and smash more blockers.    We missed this checkpoint.

2 PM

I am starving and I have to pee.   I’m low on gas.   I can’t take care of all of these problems without putting the operation in jeopardy.   So I head to a nearby Starbucks and wait for the bathroom.   I gave up after five minutes and headed towards Hanna Barbera, for the second time.

The construction workers nearby were real nice.   After I asked, they said sure, and I used their port-a-potty and felt much better.   It wasn’t even gross.    I ran quickly and killed Hanna Barbera for the second time.

2:30 PM

The northern link gets thrown, and I’m position to throw the southern.    The anchor appears in my scanner – the way is clear.    I press the confirm button….. and the link would cross an existing link.   What gives ?

The greens are not done blocking yet.   With quite literally, about ONE SECOND to spare, they blocked me from throwing the southern link.   So I headed back out, smashed more blockers, then headed back to the portal one more time.   Southern link thrown

A neat place. A very green portal, and the place I needed to kill next.

A neat place. A very green portal, and the place I needed to kill next.

3 PM

I spend tense minutes jumping between blockers and the final anchor.    Hanna Barbera gets killed for the third time by me.   Traffic is fierce as kids get out of school, and my block killer is stuck.    But he perseveres and cuts down more blocks.

3:30 PM

Final blocker killed.   I get the go ahead – throw the last link.   But it didn’t fire.   One more last minute blocker to the Tin Horn Flatts was in the way, and my fellow field agent headed straight for it, and killed it.   And then – there it was.

Burbank is now fielded !

Burbank is now fielded !

Over 75,000 MU scored for my badge – and unfortunately, we missed one checkpoint, and needed to wait another three hours for the new one.   I knew, immediately, that it wouldn’t survive that long.    But we made the field, and secured bragging rights – Burbank has never been fielded before, and I MADE THE FIELD !

Props to the ENL agents in the area who made it anything but easy to put up the field.    I’m going to have to watch it next time I head into the Hollywood Hills.   And props to all the Resistance agents who helped.   We smashed a lot of green fields today, probably somewhere close to 30,000 MU worth, so it’s a victory all the way around.

