Tags

Thanks to a comment below, I decided to take a second look at World of Warplanes after all.   I’m glad I did.

New cinematic shots, before the game begins.

New cinematic shots, before the game begins.

After patching the game up and trying it out, I find that the controls are still squishy but it doesn’t matter that much – the game is populated by bots now.    Yes, Wargaming has such a low level of population for the game that most matches are populated more by bots than by human beings.     Doesn’t bother me any.

One of the things I didn’t like about how the game came out, was getting smashed into the ground constantly by the other players.   And I mean, smashed hard.    It was discouraging to find yourself with a 40% win rate and it just keeps dropping.    But the bots are much easier for me to deal with, and I’ve racked up some nice kill totals and several wins.

That's new - I get a birthday surprise for my premium plane.  Plus 1,400 free XP.

That’s new – I get a birthday surprise for my premium plane. Plus 1,400 free XP.

Apparently things are pretty dire for this part of the franchise – it’s rumored that it will be shut down by the end of the year unless player population improves.    Based on the one Veteran’s Day set of games I played, that would be a shame.   I enjoyed it, and will probably attempt to unlock the two planes that sound cool based on real life –

  • The P-38 Lightning, built in Burbank, made for the inexperienced pilot.
  • The ME 262, the first jet, that tore allied prop planes to ribbons if it was in the air.

I have the Tier II US plane that moves me in that direction, and I unlocked the Tier II German plane as well.    Apparently I’m pretty well captured by Wargaming, again, at least for the moment.

 

