Ah, the fun of being a blogger, and writing about a game that includes the fog of war.    Yeah, all the good stuff I’ve been doing for the past two weeks can’t get written about.   I’m at a new stage in the game, there’s no progression, still need too much of everything for new levels and badges, but I’m finding new ways to have fun.

An aborted effort to make big fields last week led to a monstrously long green blocking link.    This cut the Santa Clarita Valley in half and impinged much more on the Resistance than the Enlightened.   I decided to take it out after work.

From Burbank to Bear Divide

From Burbank to Bear Divide

I’ve done the drive up Sunland Blvd a few times – thanks to Ingress.   There have been times it was useful to take out or use portals in that area.    But Little Tujunga Canyon is a place I’ve never driven down.    It doesn’t look so hard on the map, now does it ?

Immediately after I leave the office, it starts to rain.    And it’s getting pretty dark, because not only is it raining, it’s the first workday after Daylight Savings changes the time.    And there is no service at all up most of the canyon.   The road is narrow and treacherous, and I’m not driving a sports car like I did in my younger days.   It starts out being a bit weird, and progresses to a little scary by the time I finally reach Bear Divide.

Bear Divide is a picnic area at the top of a hill overlooking Santa Clarita.   Between the dusk and the clouds, I couldn’t see anything interesting.   But I hit the two portals at the top of this, in the increasing rain, surprised by the strength of the signal (Once I got out of the car, it was rock solid.).   Made a field using the appropriate portals as well.

Looks big, but a mere 2.2k MU.

Looks big, but a mere 2.2k MU.

Now it’s pitch black, and I make my way down along Sand Canyon road wanting nothing more than to get home – I’m now half an hour late.    I did stop long enough to throw a blocking link in case The Bad Man decides to retake the portal(s) and re-establish the block.    And I made it home safe.  I’m not doing something like that again, that was a tad too dangerous for my tastes.

The new key lockers are a big help.    I have 200 Burbank keys (give or take), and 300 SCV keys tucked away in them.    The extra inventory space is for “You can go ahead and hack stuff and not immediately have to start recycling”.   I filled up to about 1800 items give or take – I’ve been farming keys like mad.    And I even go to the point where it was time to recycle keys with not much utility.

In the meantime – Resist On !

