Tags

The Canyon Country Cross is a Christian cross on public land, that’s rather inaccessible – you have to hike to it.   It’s also an Ingress portal.     Teammates had to make the hike to it, and they snapped this picture.

This picture really says a thousand words about why Ingress is so cool

This picture really says a thousand words about why Ingress is so cool

The 14 freeway in the background.   Standing on top of a big hill.   Taking a hike with a fellow gamer.    Cold brews after a successful capture.    An important action for the team, taken care of.    Yep, this is why Ingress is cool.

Also, a few other things that I’ve figured out lately while Ingressing.

Key Confusion

I realized that keys you possess are actually shown on the portal screen.

See that Icon ?

See that Icon ?

There’s a key icon on the bottom left.   Right now it is ghosted out.    This means I have no keys in my inventory.   I might have one in a capsule, but otherwise I have nothing.

But now - it's not ghosted out.

But now – it’s not ghosted out.

This portal has a single key – that’s why the key icon shows up brightly.    This is the part that eluded me for too long, but shoot, nobody ever told me about this.   I had to figure it out !    I couldn’t understand why sometimes it would show me how many keys I have, and sometimes it doesn’t.   I’ve seen the below many times :

Two or more keys

Two or more keys

The important bit – it never says x1.    That’s instead the middle screenshot.

This is important if I’m trying to be more efficient in the field.   When viewing a portal, I know immediately if I have a key or not.    Because before, I would attempt to link to figure it out, or look in my keyring, and these things take time.

Big fields ?   Or little fields ?

You don’t really have to choose one or the other, but these are the two possibilities for scoring in Ingress.

Make a Big Ass Field.    A huge area covered with just three anchors.

Make a Big Ass Field. A huge area covered with just three anchors.

Make a spiderweb field - use every portal and link it up.

Make a spiderweb field – use every portal and link it up.

I participated in an big op once, and experienced all the bad things about cooperative play for a guy with commitments.    Set time for the op – you can’t do it any other way.    It ran really late.   And I got a lot of flack for annoying another agent, even as I got literally no in-game benefit.    The points were very very worthwhile for the team, which is the most important bit – but you have to remember to enjoy the game, or else, what are you doing ?

I think I’m done worrying about how big the fields I’m creating are.    BAF’s come down with just one anchor killed – I should know, I’ve personally killed two in the SCV.   Spiderweb type fields break, but never collapse.     One portal down will bust between 3 – 10 little fields, but the rest will stay up.

Even the big fields I scramble to create – they’re seen by the enemy, just like I’m seeing theirs.   And they make the effort to either block me from doing it, or take it down immediately.    I think I like the approach of just blanketing everything blue much better.    Not that the greens will just let that happen, but still.

All that said, I still want to break my 5,941 MU record field though.   That’s one of the blog’s masthead images, and chronicled here.    Big scores are always fun.

 

