Tags

I’ve now been playing Ingress for about 3 months.    It’s interesting the changes it’s wrought in my life, and how much I’m enjoying it.

So far I can get a hack in every day, which is useful for that Sojourner badge.    I can’t get out and about where I live, because there’s too many family obligations.   Instead I find myself Ingressing when I happen to be near a portal only.

Canyon Country, 7/2/15 morning

Canyon Country, 7/2/15 morning

White’s Canyon – pretty much blue.   Sierra Canyon – pretty much green.    And without time to run around I can’t do much more than a few things here and there, but that’s good enough.

At work, I can take breaks, lunchtime, and so on and make things happen.    Burbank is still looking pretty blue – my efforts are a part of that, but not the most important.

Downtown Burbank, 7/2/15 morning

Downtown Burbank, 7/2/15 morning

Gone are the mornings of waking up at 4 am to beat up green portals.   Instead I have to take my gaming when I can.

I love this meme.

I love this meme.

There’s always a lot of truth hidden in jokes.   Ingress could be a second job for you if you let it.    You start out by going out and hacking and fielding.   You get good at it.   The other local players make contact.   Next thing you know, you’re on a boat to Santa Rosa island.

Or – you take over an area.   The greens fight back.   You squash them.   Flush with victory, you take over a second area.   And a third.   They fight back.   Next thing you know, all you do is contribute to the war effort……. err, what I mean is, you are doing nothing but playing the game.

So I’m walking the tightrope of too much, or too little.   In fact, that’s part of what I’d call “Doc’s Ingress Aphorisms”

  1. To win Ingress, your team has to have more agents, and more time, than the other team.   This means take care of the lower level people and help them get to 8, and do things to enable other people to play as well as you.
  2. Don’t burn out.   If you overdo it and get sick of the whole thing, the Greens win.
  3. Do one thing a day in the game and you’re contributing to victory.    More time ?   Go for it.   Not a lot of time ?   Just do something.

Ok, they’re too long for aphorisms.   Maybe I can make them pithier someday.

The Resistance Needs YOU !

The Resistance Needs YOU !

