Tags

I finished my 10,000th match in October of 2012.   It took nearly a year and a third (including hiatus) for me to reach the next milestone – 20,000.    I’ve been looking forward to this thing for quite some time.

Reaching milestones is one of the fun statistical things related to World of Tanks, and if you had asked me at some point in the past if I’d ever reach this stage, I’d have said “No Way”.    Finding myself with that many matches under my belt, makes me feel great.

For my 20,000th match I chose the MS-1.   It now has 1,100 matches all by itself and is my most played tank still, by far, so it was not hard deciding on this one.    I opened up the match all excited.

Would have been better as Tier I only.   Oh well.

Would have been better as Tier I only, for a real possibility at stomping. Oh well.

Tucked myself into a sniper perch, and waited.

Tucked myself into a sniper perch, and waited.

Found a likely suspect hiding in the bushes.

Found a likely suspect hiding in the bushes.   Shot him once.

I continued to sit there and shoot.   Instead of seeing how bad I got hit, all I could see was how many shots missed (A couple).

He spotted me, and took aim.   I continued to sit there and shoot. Instead of seeing how bad I got hit by a shot, all I could see was how many shots missed (several).

It's me or him at this point.

It’s me or him at this point.

So much for that.

So much for that.

What an embarassingly bad game.    I got just a bit overconfident in this beast, with my BIA, 100% camo, plus 77% third skills, and I blew it because of that.

Just sitting there and getting shot is not the right way to play.    All I should have done was move, once he trained his gun on me.     Oh well.

To atone, I went ahead and tried out my Jagdpanther (#3 most played) which had much better success.   Mind you, I haven’t driven this thing in forever, but for match 20,001 I wasn’t too keyed up.     A top gun and a game turn around on the Siegfried line, along with 3 wins in four matches, made me feel much better.

And the grind goes on.

