Tags

It seems pretty clear what drives me the most with Minecraft.

  • Building wealth by collecting items
  • Exploring
  • Building Roads and connecting everything
  • Building structures

So for the past two weeks, I’ve focused on collecting items and doing some exploring.

Twin ovens, cooking or smelting Iron

Twin ovens, cooking or smelting Iron

I have the beginnings of map walls started, along with a path to the origin 0,0.    I’ve been trying to fill out maps, but this time I’m doing it on a multiple zoom level basis.    I have a wall with two level 4, and one level 3, maps mounted on them.     Realizing that each map means 4 iron ingots, I found myself again searching for iron, solely to end up with overflow iron.     (In my worlds, overflow = more then a double chest full).    So far, I’ve overflowed only

  • Sand (Unsurprising considering I removed a sand mountain for aesthetic reasons)
  • Cobblestone (Happens every time, but this time it’s not the first item)
  • Seeds (Guaranteed if you are a serious wheat farmer)

Mapping out the immediate area, Zoom 3

Mapping out the immediate area, Zoom 4

I read with interest the fact that Minecraft (oh, and also Mojang) has been purchased by Microsoft.    My immediate reaction is probably best captured by the cartoon comparing the many Windows versions with Minecraft :

Ultimate, Home Premium, Professional, or ????

Ultimate, Home Premium, Professional, or ????

I do have to admit I found the following trenchant and scary as well : ……

Yay !   I won Minecraft (?) by Microsoft

Yay ! I won Minecraft (?) by Microsoft

I will refrain from speculating further until additional info comes out.    Microsoft buying the game is probably a bad thing, but you certainly never know for sure.

 

 

