Tags

Minecraft is now taking all of my gaming time again.    The new features have me excited, and the building out of a world always was a lot of fun.     Turning on the monsters was not nearly as worrisome as I thought it might be, it’s just making the whole thing a lot of fun.

I’ve done a lot with my world 117.

A very nice treasure room.

A very nice treasure room.

Now I have a good idea how to build this.    I don’t find the idea of a sorting system to be useful as I understand hoppers functions, and limitations.   But this is an awesome setup that should do well for me for some time.

Even Overflow storage gets the trapped chest treatment.

Even Overflow storage gets the trapped chest treatment.

Probably the optimal system includes putting the treasure room where appropriate, with a ladder down into the overflow storage underneath.

I also found out just how useful, and cool, the maps are when contained in item frames.

Only two tiles, but I could easily build this out to be 15 tiles long.

Only two tiles, but I could easily build this out to be 15 tiles long.

At one time I thought the maps had to be held in hand, and were limited to 128 blocks wide.    It appears i was wrong on both of those counts.    A map centers on the square it was first right clicked on, so for me it’s a matter of going to 0,0 and opening it.     That will take care of the area from -1024 to 1024.     Head to, say, 2048,0 and open the second map.   And so on and so on and build a gigantic map in game.

And the question also is, what on earth am I doing spending so much time building roads ?   With these babies in hand, you can eventually map out the entire area you visit.    The coordinate system is enough to keep you from getting lost on the surface, which is enough to make the roads obsolete.   At least from a utilitarian perspective.

Then there’s the fact that 1.8 is coming (soon ?    We can only speculate) and contains a killer feature.

You can tweak all the world-building parameters.

You can tweak all the world-building parameters.

The big weakness with Minecraft as I play it, is the limited amount of iron.   At some point it becomes more valuable than diamonds.   Iron is needed for so many different things, and Vanilla doesn’t have enough to build cool things in survival like minecart train stations.    I suppose with enough determination you just keep mining and you’re good, but I got bored trying that and thus quit playing my iron-dependent Biomass world.    It sure doesn’t help that iron is limited in the “altitude” at which it will spawn.    But not in a customized world.

The settings you can tweak for Iron.

The settings you can tweak for Iron.

Setting the height (for example) to 256 would interesting – it would spawn no matter how high the land was, making mining those extreme hills near 256 interesting.     Increasing the spawn size (double it ?) would also go quite a way to making it less valuable by being more present in the world, and thus enabling a lot more iron constructions.

So it seems diamonds are so rare because their "Spawn tries" are set only to 1.    Might be fun to tweak this too, but not dramatically.

So it seems diamonds are so rare because their “Spawn tries” are set only to 1. Might be fun to tweak this too, but not dramatically.

You won’t be able to pick a world type with customized, because you’re controlling it.     That function is now taken by presets, which will allow you to share and name the variations of the four pages of parameters which you can tweak to build a world with.

The Devs included four presets.

The Devs included four presets.

“Mountain Madness” is probably like Amplified.    The default settings, I expect, are for the default world.    Large biomes is likely simply the Biome Size setting.

So I’m thinking of playing around and trying to pick one of each of those three world types, and be ready to start it when 1.8 is available.

