Tags

After several days of concentrating on farming, I was ready to head out again to the Mesa biome.  I had forgotten how long it can take to get farming going to where you’d like it to be.    I’m collecting pumpkins, sugar cane, beef, pork, chicken, and wheat.

It turned out that chickens were the easiest things to deal with.    My chicken coop fits a metric ton of chickens, and I let them reproduce by feeding them seeds – if you don’t, you end up with chests full of seeds.     I pick up a ton of eggs each time I enter the coop, and would head up to a nearby area to hatch them all.    On occasion, I would enter each area and kill chickens for awhile.

Rapid Fire Eggs, creating baby chickens on the hilltop.

Rapid Fire Eggs, creating baby chickens on the hilltop.

Didn’t make much headway with bread, between socking it away and needing bigger fields.   Bigger fields were being constructed waiting for everything to grow.

It's almost hypnotic, harvesting the wheat when its mature and replanting it.

It’s almost hypnotic, harvesting the wheat when its mature and replanting it.

But armed with around 640 food items I headed out.     First I cross extreme hills, on my way to the Great Quagmire (a large swamp).    Next up is the John Birch Forest, followed by plains and more extreme hills.

Quite a big swamp, requires a lot of stone bridge.

Quite a big swamp, requires a lot of stone bridge.

2014-08-06_18.50.56

If you understand that reference, you are old. Or you googled it.

You (presumably) re-enter the John Birch Forest after crossing the plains, followed by more plains.

Exited the Forest and turned around.

Exited the Forest and turned around.

And now, the Icy Hills

And now, the Icy Hills

Eventually the massive Taiga forest is reached.   Walk through this for about 5000 blocks.

Eventually the massive Taiga forest is reached. Walk through this for about 5000 blocks.

More Icy Hills lead to the Mesa Jump-off Beach

More Icy Hills lead to the Mesa Jump-off Beach

And at last the Mesa Clay digging point is reached.

