Tags

I’m successfully building out world 117.

Turning the homebase into a castle.

Turning the homebase into a castle.

 

Near the entrance, enchanting table

Near the entrance, enchanting table

The treasure room.   First basement.

The treasure room. First basement.

Overflow room.   2nd basement.

Overflow room. 2nd basement.

Currently working on gathering enough diamonds to finish off a set of armor – all I need is leggings.

In the meantime, I made good on my threat to buy a Realms subscription.   This is a perfect thing if all you want to have is a persistent Minecraft world, where friends can play.   And with Minecraft being the 2nd-biggest-selling video game in history, lots of people I know have it.

The spawn area for "piggybank".   We christened this isthmus Italy.

The spawn area for “piggybank”. We christened this isthmus Italy.

So far, the plan was successful – get my son off of Roblox, and have him build things in Minecraft.

The Lighthouse and dock at spawn area.   Gravel road leads to.....

The Lighthouse and dock at spawn area. Gravel road leads to…..

Castle MrrX.    The road continues to.....

Castle MrrX. The road continues to…..

A gaggle of kid built structures, and my build of a road through it all.

A gaggle of kid built structures, and my build of a gravel road through it all.

This is the result of three kids turned loose on the server, and one additional adult.    They all seemed to be having fun and building away.      My buddy’s daughters went and killed the Ender Dragon, which I have no idea how to do.    I believe it’s trivial in Creative mode.

The road continues on towards Taiga biomes, and ends......

The road continues on towards Taiga biomes, and ends……

In a very small village

In a very small village

Everyone was happy to see the village.    The rest of them are builders; I’d rather explore the world.

So far I’m happy with Realms.    Only those I whitelist can get in; it lets multiple people play and doesn’t tie up a personal computer as a server; and I have control over the rough parameters of the world, similar to a single player game.   If you want to use Bukkit Plugins, this ain’t for you, but for a simple requirement it works OK.

