Tags

There are a lot of the “Card Game” style games available for video game play, but hands down my favorite is the Duty Officer system within Star Trek Online.    Especially because it makes sense in the context of the Star Trek Universe – it’s not all happening to the Captain !     There are all kinds of officers and others with their own challenges to overcome, on starships with hundreds of people, why not bring them into the game a little bit ?

I reached level 11 and unlocked the officers.    The gameplay with them starts here.

First Duty Officer screen

First Duty Officer screen

Here I am informed that I can have up to 100 duty officers, but I only get 20 at first.   I’ve assigned two of them to my ship, to boost combat abilities, where they give marginal improvements to your shields and phasers.    They probably help in other spots as well, but those are what I got from my draw.    You can also assign them on Ground duty (I didn’t bother), and otherwise they are available to work missions.

There are a whole series of commendations you can earn by completing the missions, and your progress on these is shown here.

I am also helpfully informed (By the Revenue Officers of Perfect World) that I can buy additional duty officers for “Zen” which is the RMT for this world.    1 zen = 1 penny.

Assignments

Assignments

You can get the missions – called assignments in the game – either from the sector you are in, or from the “Personal” tab which I assume are just various things that come up on the ship.    The game will show you the ones that are completing soon at the top.

Managing your assignment

Managing your assignment

The success chance includes a few components which make it more fun.    Of course, you can succeed, or fail.    You can also have a critical success, which will grant more rewards or buffs or things of that nature, or disasters, where it costs you extra along some angle because your people screwed it up that bad.     This is on top of anything which might be consumed when accepting the mission such as various supplies, energy credits, etc.

Your duty officers all have various traits, such as Honorable, Logical, and Stubborn.    These modify the success chance depending on their appropriateness.    Stubborn can often be a negative modifier, while Logical can be a positive one.    But every trait might be the right one to have for a particular mission.    Some of them simply have a +5% modifier which affects success directly, no matter what else.

Rewards include experience and dilithium ore, which if I have it right, is one of the many premium currencies in the game.    There are more types of premium currency in this game than I’ve seen in any other – Gold Pressed Latinum, Dilithium, and Zens.    I don’t understand all of it.   The key point with the Duty Officers is that you earn dilithium ore which can be exchanged for Zens, so cheapskates can rejoice.     Also, the aforementioned commendation points, and energy credits.

As I rediscover the game, I am looking forward to building up a good deck of Duty Officers.   I get more at various level points, with 18 and 23 next I believe.     They are also for sale in the game exchange, but at 20k energy credits each, I might not be buying too many.

