Tags

Despite best efforts, I couldn’t close it out over the weekend.    I am very very close, but not there yet, with filling up on Iron in Minecraft.

35 blocks to go.

35 blocks to go.

In the meantime, I downloaded the Kingdom of Galekin from a reddit posting, meaning to get my son a bit more interested in the building aspect of Minecraft.   I’m seeing too much blowing up zombies and silliness.    I have grand dreams of him learning to build, becoming an engineer, growing up and saying it all started with his Dad’s guidance and Minecraft.

Well, something like that.

A fantastically detailed town and area.

A fantastically detailed town and area.

As we explored together, I realized one of the ways kids decide what to do is what you show them.    Well, if building is so much fun, why is Dad not doing it ?    And thus, was born the temporarily-named “Dad” map (seed 3901), creative mode with cheats as instructed by The Expert.

Standing in front of my little hovel

Standing in front of my little hovel

The map has a desert temple right next to the spawn, and as I flew around looking over the plains/mountains/desert terrain, the eagle eyed Expert noted an abandoned mineshaft deep in the geometry.    I built a path down to it, along with a large cobblestone walkway connecting these three elements.

Next, I suppose I need to start making it more like a crafted map.    I’m thinking about what would show up first in any settlement, even one next to an ancient and abandoned archeological find.    More houses and a pier, I’m thinking first, and some kind of workshops.     The roller coaster and water slide – my boy’s favorite things to build – will come later.

We’ll see where my creativity takes me, including coming up with a better name for the map.

