Tags

After some consulation with my son, the Minecraft expert at 9 years old, I decided to make a set of powered minecart rails.    Not just any railroad here – I plan to reach across the oceans and to block 11,000.

At block 11,000 I have a bolthole home, along with a set of Mooshrooms gated up. They should still be there, I think.    So I’ll reach that point, and then push them into a minecart.     After that, all I have to do is power up the rails and they should ride straight home.    That’s the plan anyway, we’ll see how well it stands up.

And here’s the beginning of the Great Mooshroom railroad :

And so it begins

And so it begins

Now, the mistake I had made was hearing that minecart rails that are powered only go one way.    I made quite a bit of track before I discovered that was uncessary, and will go forward with a single rail.

Roundabout block 500

Roundabout block 500

The concept is pretty simple.   The road needs to be expanded to three squares wide (Perhaps only two), with rail on one line, and redstone torches as needed on the other.     Powered rail is placed after 32 railroad tracks – on a flat surface this is calculated to be enough to keep the minecart moving.   So the next track is a powered rail.    And then another 32 rails, and so on.

This is clearly a mammoth undertaking, and I wonder how long it will take me until I run out of supplies – Iron or Gold.    You need gold for powered rails, and iron in mass quantities for the unpowered version.     So I expect to be doing additional mining soon enough.

 

