Tags

After cutting through more and more extreme hills, I came to the end of land once again.

And I think this one is a pretty big ocean.

And I think this one is a pretty big ocean.

I found myself with a different kind of a problem.    I was worried about running out of food.

I have tons stored at the base, but no farm at block 6,000 to create more food.   So I decided it was time to head back to base, harvest more food, and get ready to bring an entire load of stuff to block 6,000.

The run back was uneventful, if long.   It took about 3 days.    And I set to with harvesting everything.

Yes, Bread is a staple diet in Minecraft.

Yes, Bread is a staple diet in Minecraft.

The pumpkins grow very quickly, once the stems are mature.   I have a metric ton of wheat, and started turning a lot of it into bread – which I also have an absolute ton of.    Pumpkin pies, collecting chickens, growing sugar cane and cocoa round out the list.

Wheat fields after harvest

Wheat fields after harvest

The trickiest thing was sugar.    You have to plant a lot to meet the production of a small pumpkin patch.     Eggs are easy, just breed a ton of chickens and if they get out of their pen, well they’re volunteers for the slaughterhouse.     Finally, after maybe two game weeks, I’m satisfied with the accumulation of food.   And of course, I still have a ton of it at the main base, but I set off with this stack :

2013-03-17_20.05.57

The wheat and cocoa is for making cookies – they are harder to carry made, than unmade, so I’ll simply craft em as needed.   The run back to block 6,500 was uneventful.     And I find myself back where I started from, with plenty of food, and if I do run out there’s plenty at a base nearby.

