Tags

One of the perks that comes with being a computer guy is building systems for your friends, if they ask you to.     I bought a Geforce GTX 650 and got a World of Tanks code good for a month of premium access.     I like fringe benefits.

Yay premium

Yay premium

Got updated to WoT 8.4, and tried out the tutorial mode they built.   It’s really well done, should give new players some clue about what to do.    Why they need this at this stage is something I’m not sure about – are new people still starting up this game ?    Perhaps there are a good number but it just seems like something that came along too late.

You get 6,000 credits and 300 xp for completing this.

You get 6,000 credits and 300 xp for completing this.

The tutorial comes complete with the above loading screen, and a countdown timer, although clearly neither one is needed.    It’s still smart – get a new player used to the rhythm of the game.

Nice little "Objectives" window.    I also get to kill a Tiger II.

Nice little “Objectives” window. I also get to kill a Tiger II.

The update seems to have gone smoothly for all of my installed skins – sometimes, the tanks are remodeled or something, and the skins I had in use don’t work anymore.     I got XVM updated and the new version has nifty new features.

New and shiny

New and shiny

  • No more expressing things in full percentages, which means they never move.    I have an overall win rate of 50.05% at the moment.    
  • There are a bunch of sorting buttons to allow me to view my tanks statistics.    
  • I can see how many wins I’ll need, to increase my win rate.
  • Average damage and average “Tanks Destroyed” also shown

The tech tree includes new British tank destroyers, and something I’ve been looking for for a while – The Panzer I.

Several new tanks.    Although, I have already "Passed" all of them.

Three new tanks. Although, I have already “Passed” all of them.

Due to my tastes in reading, I became aware of the existence of the PzI and have always wondered why it wasn’t present in the game.     I’ll have to drive this at some point.   For the moment, I’m not in a hurry, I am going to use the premium to full advantage and see how far I can grind up the gaggle of tanks I have available.

Current priority tanks

Current priority tanks

And at last, my participation in my work project goes into a more manageable phase, so time to get back to gaming and writing I hope, and no more long days of talk talk talk.

