Tags

, ,

Because I clearly need more games to play, I find myself installing War Thunder following a visit to Z’s blog.

Yet more WWII goodness?

Yet more WWII goodness?

Apparently Gaijin (the publisher/developer) has decided to put the game on the Steam “Greenlight” program.     I can’t exactly get behind the idea, other than if they are trying to reach more gamers.    I don’t want my MMO’s encumbered by Steam, there’s no point to that.     Some of you don’t feel the same way however.

Looks like a 2 1/2 hour download.

Looks like a 2 1/2 hour download.

While I wait, I probably better check my email.     And of course, I find out that the Steam Sale begins now and Torchlight II is on sale ($10).   Time to pick this one up and see what all the fuss is about.

Now I really have a lot of downloading to do.    That’s OK – I need to get some work done anyway.     I look up and get ready to update my Tomato router.    I read up on NAS and decide to think about buying some.    Holiday pictures get processed.   Time Warner Cable still has no clue that upload speed is important, so I won’t be upgrading my service.

Guys.   I would gladly pay you for faster upload speeds.    Retards.

Guys. I would gladly pay you for faster upload speeds. Retards.

Finally, I get to log in and mess around with War Thunder.

Fantastic talent.   I completed the tutorial.

Fantastic talent. I completed the tutorial for “Fighter”.

The game looks pretty good – I am getting a high framerate during the tutorial mission, the controls respond well (Even though it’s beyond easy) and my respect for Russian game programmers grows.

This is, apparently, my hangar.

This is, apparently, my hangar.

Now if this doesn’t look like World of Tanks I’ll eat my hat.     I can apparently choose any of three planes and jump into a battle, or I can finish the tutorial which seems to consist of 8 or so different little missions to clue you in about how to play.    Think I’ll mess around a bit with this one .

