Tags

,

Thought I would document the evolution of my Minecraft world.    Seed name is “Biomass”.

This is my house.   Once I thought I'd find a different permanent place, but this one works.

This is my house. Once I thought I’d find a different permanent place, but this one works.

Thinking of turning it into a nice stone castle, instead of the mix of cobblestone, hand-placed cobblestone, and dirt that it is at the moment.   Note the viewing platform under construction top left – even as it is, I can see pretty far from that point.

House main level.   A bed, plus storage for all my collected items.    Stairs lead to the enchanting room.

House main level. A bed, plus storage for all my collected items. Stairs lead to the enchanting room.

Off of this room is a massive entrance to a cave I’ve only barely explored.   With a door and a few blocks, and no monsters can get in.

Speaking of caves – the main mine I’ve christened the Bedrock mine.

Going down ?

Going down ?

Close to the surface, there were some spur caves which I simply blocked off with doors.

Close to the surface, there were some spur caves which I simply blocked off with doors.

You can often hear zombies pounding on these wooden doors, when working with the livestock.   I should probably explore the caves, but haven’t done so yet.

At the bottom.   Spur shafts along a main shaft.

At the bottom. Spur shafts along a main shaft.

I use signs to help me remember what’s at the end of any particular spur.    Many end with lava leaking into the spur, while some end at caverns.

I dig each spur tunnel two blocks high straight ahead.    Any ores found are mined out.    This is a pretty efficient method of getting ores, and saves you from dodging the monsters if you are walking around in a cave.

Back up at the top, I’ve explored nearby areas as well.

This cobblestone path I built meanders over to the  only Village I could find.

This cobblestone path I built meanders over to the only Village I could find.

I built a few of the beacon towers seen at the top of this screenshot, to help me navigate and not get lost at various points.    Just head to one of those and I can usually find my way afterwards.

My farm.   Carrots, potatoes, wheat and sugar cane.    It's huge.

My farm. Carrots, potatoes, wheat and sugar cane. It’s huge.

Chest of rares.

Chest of rares.

Planning to keep a stack of diamonds, for no good reason, and using the rest to build diamond armor.    Definitely accumulating a lot of iron.

Equipment chest.

Equipment chest.

I have a full suit of iron armor that I rarely use, and I’m building a set of diamond.     I assume that’s a good enchantment for the sword, will probably one-shot spiders.

Livestock pens

Livestock pens

The amount of chickens that pen holds is unbelievable.     I got it perhaps half full of chickens and decided it was time to harvest.     The slaughter took from morning to night, until they were all dead, around 150 raw chickens collected.     Shot off maybe 120 eggs and got a bunch of replacement chickens, who I promptly killed (save two) to make room for more egg hatching.

Before the slaughter.

Before the slaughter.    Feeding them seeds so they breed.

And after.   The next day that is.

And after. The next day that is.

I let the sheep go since I get all the wool I need wandering the plains – and I kill any wolves I encounter to keep more sheep alive.

Somehow the game glitches and animals get out.    I just kill them when I can and don’t worry too much about it, but it might be interesting to try iron fences, raised fences, or some other method to try and keep them all in.

The Great Oaken Forest

The Great Oaken Forest

I’ve cut a road due east and it leads through these massive oak trees with many branches – not just simple sticks going up.    This place is dangerous because monsters shelter under the trees, so I’m chopping some down near the road.   Doesn’t go very far, but it does lead to an exposed lava pool, and the Swamp biome.

Due south I have a road that goes through forest and leads to jungle, where I got some jungle tree saplings and a couple of stacks of wood and cocoa.

Due west my road leads to a fortunate convergence of biomes – Ocean, Jungle, Desert and Plains.

A view of the intersection of biomes

A view of the intersection of biomes

I stood here and decided to use up some of that excess dirt.   I’ll just make a bridge across the ocean, and see how far I get.

The not-so-great dirt bridge

The not-so-great dirt bridge

It connected to a spur of jungle up ahead, so it wasn’t that impressive, nor did it use up too much dirt.

Cocoa farm, at the end of the dirt bridge.

Cocoa farm, at the end of the dirt bridge.

Cocoa grows only on jungle wood, so I went ahead and chopped down a large section of the jungle, left these stumps, and planted cocoa on their sides.

Facing due west.   What could be out there ?

Facing due east. What could be out there ?

Currently, continuing to grab more and more and more resources.    I’m mostly just doing whatever strikes my fancy at the moment.    I’ll spend a few days farming, go on a couple of trips down into the Bedrock mine, and spend time collecting items in the different biomes.

I have too much cobblestone, and dirt.   Dirt can be used for an ocean bridge, so I may build another one off after the jungle biome – but I’ll need to move all my stored dirt over to the jungle bolt-hole I’ve made.   Cobblestone can be turned into nice stone blocks, to make my home a literal castle – but require coal.   I have a few stacks of stone but want to wait until I accumulate more coal to turn it into stone.

This easily is the most involved and best put together Minecraft game I’ve ever done.     The only things outstanding are doing things like killing Endermen, and accessing the Nether, which I’m not ready for until I have more diamonds.

I continue to play a few World of Tanks games, but Minecraft is holding my interest much more, and is pausable.     The 5X event which is ongoing at the moment notwithstanding.

