Tags

Basically there is no more “38 Studios”.

Entire staff laid off

The Company is experiencing an economic downturn. To avoid further losses and possibility of retrenchment, the Company has decided that a companywide lay off is absolutely necessary. These layoffs are non-voluntary and non-disciplinary. This is your official notice of lay off, effective today, Thursday, May 24th, 2012

You can’t expect perfect wordsmithing with a layoff notice, but come on.   “The Company” ?    “Experiencing an economic downturn” ?   More like “We ran out of capital before we could become profitable”.

But really, would I have been up for playing a subscription-based, fantasy MMO in 2013 ?    I doubt it.

  • I had three reasons for wanting this whole thing to work, and they’re all people:
  • Curt Schilling.    Baseball player as gamer.    Retires from baseball (well before *I* can retire) and gives me a taste of what may come for me, ie, “WTF do I do after retiring?”.    Hope I’m smart enough to stay with my core competency.
  • Moorgard and Blackguard.   It’s nice to see certain names from the gaming industry stay accessible, and not disappear, even if only through the medium of haphazardly updated blogs.   Wish I had something besides best wishes to send them as they start searching for jobs.

So many names I remember, and admire, for one reason or another in the gaming industry.    Half the time they’re regular guys, and half of them are big wheels in small ponds.    Then there are the occasional superstars who break molds, and the guys who decide to get serious with their careers and move away from a public, gaming persona.

When I started on this journey of gaming – when was that exactly ?    This would require serious thought – I hadn’t thought about it in the wiser, long lived sense of the word.   I was a *freaking child*, so of course not.   But now I realize that the gaming world is almost something in parallel with the real world, two spheres moving forward, intersecting little, and the people in contact with both are those who work in the industry.

I’ve enjoyed playing my consumer’s part in all of this.   I’ve moved from pinball, to video games, to war games, to RPG’s, to the fascinating and endless variety of games on the PC.    The guys in the industry have it pretty hard, it seems, from a career perspective.    I sure lucked out in that I got in a niche and I’ll probably ride it out ’til I’m 60.

In the end, we’re all gamers and it’s all good.   I wish good luck to all 38 studios folks and a happy Memorial day.

