Tags

As the grind continues :

  • 94k of 100k for the T32 unlock.    Although, this does not mean my T29 is done, I have so far skipped the engine upgrades to unlock the tank faster.
  • 34k of 78k towards Tiger II.    I no longer hate the Tiger, but I am a long way from liking it.
  • KV has one unlock left, having opened up the KV1S and KV-3.   But it’s a doozy.   Earned 7k towards 127k and unlocking S51.
  • SU85 has unlocked all the modules and just needs the tank unlock – 3k of 26k towards that.
  • Still working to 100% all crews in tanks I own.   The VK3601H is at 99%, probably means another 8 or so matches.
  • Plenty, plenty of credits.    I have my 8m “just because” money, an additional 2m to buy Russian tanks at the appropriate time, and am waiting until I hit 10.5m and will buy a periscope for the Tiger
  • Begun working on “Brothers In Arms” perk for my MS-1 crew, currently 26%.

That gets me thinking about the meaning of the word “grind” and the comparison with MMORPG’s.    To some, the grind up to maximum level was just something you had to do to start raiding and playing the elite level game.    Some looked at it as something you had to do, after picking up the latest level or piece of gear, and mastering it.    Or, it was time to pick up a raft of AA’s or such.     But the key idea with all of it was to kill mobs, over and over, and earn the XP.

Here’s the thing about this mechanic though.   It’s easy for it to get boring.     Instead of going in and playing the game in a more lighthearted mode, you logged in and found the best spot to earn XP and just killed and killed and killed until the XP was no good anymore.     That’s…… not always a fun thing.    Often, I got bored doing it.    This is why I would tend to play an MMORPG more as a quest grind, I found that more fun.

Now, compare this with World of Tanks.     At first blush, yes, you are killing tanks over and over to earn the XP.    But the game is very different each time – you NEVER get into the same match as you did the previous game.     You might be the top dog, or the lowly scout.     You might be on your favorite map or the one you can’t stand.    You might be playing with a bunch of doorknobs, or the top 10% of the playerbase.  And no matter what, you play the game and see how everything comes out.    That’s a whole order different than running an instance over and over and wiping out all the mobs.

I think this is the reason Wargaming has been so successful.    They’ve taken the grind, out of the grind.    It’s instead “playing the game and progressing”, whatever verb that is.     Maybe the Russian word is better – keep “pumping” (up) your tanks.

And to stretch the analogy even further, I have 32 alts in the garage.     When I wanted another alt, I spent 150-300 gold (aka, $.62 or $1.25).   So simple.    Compare this to all the raging I used to do over having enough character slots, and the idea of having multiple accounts with all of that cost.    Shoot, now I have twelve empty slots I would not want to fill because of cost, and the annoyance of adding more tanks to “grind” until the current round is completed.

